Couscous Citrus Salad

This recipe was inspired by a salad I had at the Nordstrom e-Bar. It is honestly one of my favorite things to grab when I’m hungry at the mall. Being that it’s prepackaged I took a good guess that it probably has plenty of preservatives even though it looks healthy. Much to my delight it is quite easy to recreate at home!

Side note: Nordstrom’s version has dried cherries but I always end up picking those out so I made do without them and added feta cheese instead.

ingredients

For the Salad:

  • 1lb of chicken tenderloins
  • 4.5oz of pearl/Israeli couscous
  • 2 handfuls of arugula
  • 1 cup of mandarin wedges
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup of feta

* For vegetarians just omit chicken

Vinaigrette:

  • 1/2 cup EVOO
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tsp vinegar (I used salad vinegar)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

I started off by making the vinaigrette and leaving it aside for later. Cook your couscous per instructions on packaging. As you wait for the couscous to be done, which only takes a few minutes, prep your onions to however you’d like them cut. Next dice your chicken into bite sized pieces and saute them with a little citrus juice from your lemon and orange. Salt and pepper to taste. After the couscous and chicken are done combine them in a bowl and let cool down before adding the rest of the ingredients. I made the mistake of adding my mandarin wedges too soon and the heat ended up breaking them apart when I started mixing it all. Now that your couscous and chicken are at about room temperature, add in your onions, arugula, mandarin wedges, and feta cheese. Gently fold everything over to mix it. Last but not least, drizzle the vinaigrette over your delicious salad. Now all you have to do is pop it in the fridge until cool.

This is a great salad to make the day before since, in my opinion, it tastes better chilled.

end_product

Enjoy!

-Pao

Leave a Reply

